Sacrifice a Little... and The Good Shall Come!

Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

Sacrifice a Little... and The Good Shall Come!

Starting this coding journey, I knew that I had make some time to dedicate to studying. It was hard for me to comprehend that this process was going to take some time to see the results. I mean for crying out loud I'm practically learning a new language.

At first I was in denial thinking I could indulge in my video games and learn coding like its nothing for me...… boy was I wrong! And it didn't take me that long to realize it. Once I started noticing that I was falling behind in the boot camp, I immediately put my big boy pants on and started reassessing myself. Gif description

A few weeks into the boot camp, I noticed that the way I was studying and reviewing was pretty inefficient. So I took a step back and started planning out my day to where I can effectively use my time to learn how to code. Needless to say some sacrifices had to be made...…. at least during the bootcamp. Gif description

Hey, I'm not saying that you have to no-life coding and never see your friends and family and not take breaks. But I promised to myself that I would see it through to end of this boot camp and sometimes it could be demanding especially if you're also working.

Gif description

A few things that I had to think about while going through this journey:

  1. If a game that I've been waiting for is coming out and I know I'll lose myself in it, know that that game isn't going anywhere and it's ok to hold off on it.

  2. The sacrifices that I'm making is for the betterment of my future and success (its selfcare)

  3. Everything will come together positively in the end so don't stop working hard for yourself.

  4. THESE SACRIFICES AREN'T PERMANENT!

What is the biggest sacrifice you had to make?