Styling with CSS as a non-creative. (For the moment at least)

Styling with CSS as a non-creative. (For the moment at least)

To be clear....

I'm calling myself a non-creative only temporarily!

Gif description

I believe that there's NOTHING wrong with admitting that you're weak in an area but keep challenging yourself in that area to further your skill in it.

Gif description

My Bestfriend

When I started coding, HTML and CSS were the first things I was learning in order to build websites (and I'm pretty sure everyone else did too but hey who knows). I saw HTML as that friend that you knew you were going to have the best long lasting friendship that no one could break. Immediately I was already understanding the concept of HTML like no tomorrow. Then........... that dreaded day had to come where i had to meet the other friend......... CSS!!!!

Gif description

Oh... Hey CSS. ¬_¬

Yup. It had to happen. I mean I should've read the signs. I would think to my self, "Yeah structuring my HTML is great but how do I start styling it and add some colors to it?". Boy was i in for a world of hurt I'm not gonna lie. You remember how i said that HTML was that friend you can just have a great time with? Weeeeellllll CSS is that friend that you just don't know what they're saying and you can't really relate to.... at first at least.

Gif description

Taking Your Time To Understand

At first, it felt like I was defeated knowing that i gave it my all, or so I thought. I had to get rid of this whole "become a master in my first try" mentality, I always have to constantly remind myself that its ok to suck at something when you first try it and I that was the state of mind that I should've approached CSS with.

Gif description

Meanwhile, I was looking at my wonderful creative girlfriend having a great time styling her websites with amazing colors and pictures and I was maaaaaad jelly. So I did the next best thing, admitted to myself that I was just not that good with CSS and being creative and just ask for help. That's it? Just ask for help? No crazy miracle? No random hidden anime power that's been locked away inside of you that can make you a master in CSS?

Gid description

Nope not at all.

Gif description

Not to say that I'm a master at CSS by no means. But asking for help was the best thing I could do not only because it help strengthen my ability to learn CSS, but it also helped me build up my ability to communicate that I'm having a hard time understanding something.

Gif description